Dolphins and whales are similar in many ways, they are alike in the sense that they both are marine mammals and they both belong to the order of cetacean.

The order Cetacean include whales, dolphins and porpoises.

While all cetaceans are mammals fully adapted to the marine life, they split in two suborders, the Mysticeti which includes the baleen whales and the Odontoceti which includes all the toothed whales, dolphins and porpoises.

Whales and dolphins, share several characteristics like the need to breath fresh air, which is done through blowholes. They both are mammals and they both nurse their kids with milk from the mother.

However, baleen whales feed completely different from dolphins, while they feed from krill and plankton, dolphins feed from fish and squid.

There are 6 species of dolphins that are called whales because their size or characteristics.

  1. Melon-headed Whale, Peponocephala electra
  2. Killer whale (Orca), Orcinus orca
  3. Pygmy Killer Whale, Feresa attenuata
  4. False Killer Whale, Pseudorca crassidens
  5. Long-finned Pilot Whale, Globicephala melas
  6. Short-finned Pilot Whale, Globicephala macrorhynchus


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This